Independent public informationWe never ask for your CNIC, OTP, or payment.Read our disclaimer
BISP Registration

NADRA CNIC Name Correction: How to Fix a Mismatch Before Your BISP Payment

Fix a NADRA CNIC name mismatch by first finding which record is wrong: the CNIC, the B-Form or the Union Council birth certificate. Correct the source document first, then update the card at a NADRA Registration Centre. A parent's name is corrected in person with biometric witnesses. Changing your own name has separate, stricter rules.

Drawn CNIC card with a wrong name crossed out and the corrected name beside it, with a tick for the NADRA centre correction
Independent guide

This article explains public information. It does not determine eligibility or replace an official notice.

Why a name mismatch matters

A name on a government ID has to match the other records that carry it. A name correction fixes the record that is wrong, and it starts with finding which one that is. A mismatch can come from a typing error at registration, a wrong entry on a B-Form, or a birth certificate issued with a different spelling. It can also come from a name change that was never made on every record.

The mismatch itself does not always cause a problem. The sources reviewed for this guide do not confirm that a CNIC name mismatch stops a BISP payment. If a payment is held, check your status first, then ask BISP for the reason in writing rather than assuming the name is the cause.

Where a mismatch usually starts

There are three records that can carry a name, and each one is corrected in a different place:

A mismatch on the card can trace back to one of the other two. That is why the first step is to find the source document, not to visit a NADRA desk with the wrong paperwork.

  • **The CNIC**, issued by NADRA from age 18.
  • **The B-Form or Child Registration Certificate (CRC)**, issued by NADRA for children.
  • **The Union Council birth certificate**, issued by the local Union Council, which NADRA uses as the source for the B-Form.

Step 1: Find which document is wrong

Use this table to decide where the correction starts. It is built from the four sources read for this guide, and the last column says which claim is weakest.

The B-Form row is the one most readers miss. Phone World's guide says to correct the Union Council birth certificate first and keep the same CRMS number, then submit the modified certificate to NADRA to update the B-Form. Requesting a new certificate instead can change the CRMS number. Ask the Union Council for a modified certificate, not a new one.

Where the error appearsWhere to correct itWho must attendWeakest claim
Parent's name on your CNICNADRA Registration CentreParent (if living) and a witness sibling, see belowFees and timelines are not published in any source read
Your own name on your CNICNADRA, with a birth certificate or affidavitYou, with the CRMS-linked birth certificateAffidavit attestation rules conflict between sources
Error on a B-FormUnion Council first, then NADRAYou, with the modified certificatePhone World (Nov 2023) is the only source read for this route
Error on the birth certificateUnion Council, keeping the same CRMS numberYouPhone World (Nov 2023) advises against a new certificate because it changes the CRMS number

Correcting a parent's name at a NADRA centre

Who must come with you

ARY News (December 2025) reports these witness rules. Confirm them at the centre before you go, because the rules depend on whether your parents are living.

  • **Parent alive:** the parent whose name needs correcting attends with you for biometric verification.
  • **One parent deceased:** the surviving parent, whose CNIC shows the correct spouse name, attends. One son or daughter also gives biometric testimony.
  • **Both parents deceased:** two siblings whose CNICs already show the correct parent names attend for biometric verification.
  • **Sibling witness:** ARY News also lists one sibling whose CNIC already shows the correct parent names as a witness. Confirm with the centre whether this applies to your case.

The steps at the centre

ARY News reports seven steps. The sequence matters because the token system decides when you are called for biometrics.

ARY News does not give fee amounts or a processing time for this route.

  • Step 1: Go to the nearest NADRA Registration Centre.
  • Step 2: Take a token and wait to be called. Biometric verification happens at that point.
  • Step 3: A NADRA officer processes the request. State both the wrong spelling and the correct spelling of the parent's name.
  • Step 4: Check the details. Provide a new photo and signature if required.
  • Step 5: Submit the completed form to the centre in charge.
  • Step 6: Pay the standard or urgent processing fee, as the staff advise.
  • Step 7: Collect the tracking slip. You use it to follow the status of the updated CNIC.

Changing your own name

Changing your own name is a different process. It starts with proof of the new name, not with witnesses.

Documents: the birth certificate and CRMS number

ProPakistani (October 2026) reports that NADRA's process needs the new name and the CRMS number of a verified computerised birth certificate. The certificate must come from a union council, municipal committee or cantonment board. Applicants give document numbers, not photocopies, according to the same report.

If you do not have a computerised birth certificate, ARY News (August 2025) says you can use an affidavit on a NADRA form instead: Form C1 for a B-Form, or Form C2 for a CNIC. A Dar-ul-Ifta certificate is needed only for a religion change.

The affidavit: three sources, three procedures

This is the section where sources disagree most. The table sets out what each one says. Do not act on any single column until the centre confirms the current rule.

The 2025 TechJuice route is the most demanding. It adds a gazette notice and a newspaper publication, which ARY and Zameen do not mention. None of the three sources cites a NADRA page, so the official route is still unconfirmed. Take the affidavit question to the NADRA centre before you prepare any document.

Source and dateAffidavit needed?AttestationOther steps
ARY News, Aug 2025Yes, if no birth certificate (Forms C1 and C2)"No need to get the form attested for CNIC amendments"Birth certificate with the correct name
Zameen, Sep 2020Yes, on PKR 50 stamp paperOath CommissionerOriginal CNIC, SCNIC or NICOP
TechJuice, Mar 2025Yes, a court-style affidavitFirst-class magistrate, via lawyer, notary or district courtGazette notification, local newspaper, then Union Council update

The once-in-a-lifetime rule

ProPakistani reports that a CNIC name can be changed once in a lifetime. The one exception it reports is for women who change their name after marriage. Treat this as the rule to check before you apply, since a second change may be refused.

Fees and processing time: what is confirmed

No official NADRA fee table was readable for this guide. The sources give conflicting figures, so do not publish or quote any single number without confirming it.

The figures come from different routes and dates, so they may not be comparable. The Phone World article is the only one that tells you where the fee is confirmed: the helpline on 051-111-786-100. Use that line, or the centre, before you pay.

Source and dateRouteFee reportedTime reported
ARY News, Aug 2025Name changeRs 2,500 (executive), Rs 1,500 (executive), Rs 750 (normal)7, 15 and 30 working days
Zameen, Sep 2020CNIC modificationPKR 400 normal, PKR 1,150 urgent, PKR 2,150 executiveNot stated
TechJuice, Mar 2025Legal name changeNot stated3 to 7 business days
Phone World, Nov 2023B-Form correctionNot stated; the article says to call 051-111-786-100Not stated

Worked example: a father's name spelled wrong

This example is illustrative. It is not a real case, and it uses the steps reported above.

Suppose your CNIC shows your father's name as "Mohamad" and his CNIC says "Muhammad". Your father is alive. Under the ARY rules, your father attends the centre with you for biometric verification, and the officer records both spellings. Before that day, gather the documents: your CNIC, your father's CNIC, and the Union Council birth certificate, because a mismatch on the card often traces back to that certificate.

Now change one variable. Suppose your father has died and your mother is alive. ARY News reports that the surviving parent attends with you, and one son or daughter gives biometric testimony. The sources reviewed do not cover every family combination, so confirm who can give testimony with the centre before you book the day.

The lesson in the example: the witness rules decide who has to travel, not the spelling. Settle the witness question first, because it determines the appointment.

When NADRA refuses or delays the correction

Courts have ordered corrections where the error was NADRA's own, according to a search summary of Sindh High Court and Lahore High Court case reports. Petitions have been dismissed where the applicant had not first pursued the correction with NADRA. Where NADRA does not resolve a complaint, the courts pointed applicants to the Wafaqi Mohtasib's Grievance Commissioner for NADRA.

For a B-Form error, Phone World (2023) describes a civil suit for modification and declaration under Section 42 of the Specific Relief Act, 1877. The document list in that article includes both parents' CNICs, the Union Council certificate and two witnesses. Read the full judgments before relying on either route, since the search summary does not give their facts.

Before you go: a checklist

  • Identify the wrong record: CNIC, B-Form, or the Union Council certificate.
  • Confirm your parents' status, because it decides who attends.
  • Find the CRMS number on the birth certificate, if you are changing your own name.
  • Ask the centre for the current affidavit and attestation rule, and the fee.
  • Keep the tracking slip. ARY News reports it as the way to follow the updated CNIC.
  • If BISP is involved, check your status on the 8171 portal after the correction. The sources reviewed do not say how long the portal takes to show a corrected name.
Good to know

Frequently asked questions

Can I correct my name on my CNIC online?

The sources reviewed describe an in-person visit to a NADRA Registration Centre for a name correction, and none describes an official online route for it. Phone World (2023) also states there is no online method to correct a B-Form. Confirm with NADRA before you rely on any online option.

How long does a NADRA name correction take?

No official processing time was readable for a parent's name correction. ARY News gives 7, 15 or 30 working days for a name change under different fee categories, while TechJuice reports 3 to 7 business days for a legal name change. Ask the centre for the expected time when you collect the tracking slip.

Which document do I correct first if my name is wrong on the CNIC?

Find the record that is wrong before you go to NADRA. If the B-Form or birth certificate is wrong, Phone World (2023) advises correcting the Union Council birth certificate first, keeping the same CRMS number. Then submit the modified certificate to NADRA to update the record.

Do I need a birth certificate to change my own name?

ProPakistani (October 2026) reports that you need the CRMS number of a verified computerised birth certificate. If you do not have one, ARY News (August 2025) says you can use a NADRA affidavit on Form C1 for a B-Form or Form C2 for a CNIC. Confirm which route applies at the centre.

Who must come with me to correct a parent's name?

The rule depends on whether your parents are living. ARY News (December 2025) reports that a living parent attends for biometric verification, that one surviving parent and one son or daughter attend if one parent has died, and that two siblings with correct CNICs attend if both have died. Confirm the rule for your family with the centre before you book.

Can I change my name more than once?

ProPakistani reports that a CNIC name can be changed once in a lifetime. The one exception it reports is for women who change their name after marriage. Check this rule with NADRA before you apply, because a second request may be refused.

What is an affidavit for a name change?

It is a sworn statement that gives your old name, your new name and your family details. ARY News reports NADRA forms C1 and C2, while TechJuice describes an affidavit attested before a first-class magistrate. The attestation rule differs between sources, so confirm it at the centre.

What if I only have a wrong name on my BISP record?

Check the record on the 8171 portal or by SMS to 8171 first, then ask BISP for the reason in writing. The sources reviewed do not describe a separate BISP name-correction process. Contact the BISP helpline on 0800-26477 or your tehsil office if the status does not change.

Can a court order a name correction?

In some cases yes. A search summary of Sindh and Lahore High Court reports says courts have ordered corrections where the error came from NADRA, and dismissed petitions where the applicant had not first raised the issue with NADRA. Read the full judgment before you rely on any case, because the summary does not give the facts.

Which NADRA helpline should I call?

NADRA's official contact page lists the helpline as 1777, open 24/7 for mobile users, and +92 51 111 786 100 for landline and overseas callers. Complaints can be sent to [email protected]. Older guides list 7000 for mobile phones, so check the number on the page before you call.

Pakbenefits Team
Back to Registration